Celebrating quality and innovation: CMHP Awards 2019

The College supports research for the benefit of service users. At our annual conference, we recognise achievements in quality improvement, innovation and research that will have a positive impact on patient care.

The 2019 winners and runners up are as follows:

Alistair Tinto Awards for best oral practice presentation

  • Winner - Zuber E Patel
    Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust
    The Impact of Non-medical Prescribing on an Acute Psychiatric Inpatient Ward
  • Winner – Azra Sumar
    Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust
    A Pilot Project to Encourage Shared Decision Making (SDM): Patient Involvement in Medication Decisions (PINMED)

Original research / Quality improvement poster award

  • Winner -  Caroline Hynes, Dolores Keating, Ita Fitzgerald, Stephen McWilliams, Larkin Feeney, Mary Clarke
    Saint John of God Hospital
    Systematic Assessment of Antipsychotic Side-effects in an Inpatient Cohort
  • Runner up - Holli Brown, Dr Matthew J Boyd
    University of Nottingham
    “Pharmacists are in the perfect position”: An exploration of community pharmacist’s ability to provide mental health support services
  • Highly commended - Camille Ramos, Amira Guirguis, Nigel Smeeton, Hadar Zaman, Anna-Marie Felice, Stephanie Bancroft, Rosalind Gittins, John Martin Corkery & Fabrizio Schifano
    University of Hertfordshire, Swansea University
    Exploring the baseline knowledge and experience of healthcare professionals in the United Kingdom on Novel Psychoactive Substances

Audit poster award

  • Winner – Vanessa Earnshaw, Ruby Akkad & Robert Horne
    South West London and St George's Mental Health NHS Trust
    Audit of inpatient falls incident to identify if medicines are considered as contributing factors
  • Runner up – Sally Butterworth
    Hertfordshire Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust
    Audit of GP practice records of patients prescribed clozapine by Trust

Service development poster award

  • Winner - Nikki Holmes
    Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
    Evaluation of the Use of Intramuscular Clozapine
  • Runner up - Matthew Elswood, Sarah Pope
    Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust, University of Nottingham
    "I can't handle it. I've been in situations with mentally ill people and I just can't handle it..." Supporting Pharmacy Undergraduates to be aware of Mental Health and Mental Health Pharmacy.
  • Highly commended - Anthony Young
    Northumberland Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust
    Design and Implementation of a Pharmacist Prescribing Competency Framework within Mental Health
  • Highly commended - David Gerrard
    Northumberland Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust
    Pharmacist Independent prescriber working in a Community Learning Disability team - releasing psychiatry time and delivering STOMP

Undergraduate pharmacy research award

  • Winner –  Katherine Greene, Dr Richard Keers
    University of Manchester
    A systematic review of interventions designed to improve medicines safety in mental health hospitals
  • Runner up - Eve Clapham, Dr Paul Grassby, Karen Chadwick
    University of Lincoln and Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
    Investigating the appropriateness of benzodiazepine and Z-hypnotic initiation/general prescribing on mental health wards and issues regarding review prior to discharge
  • Highly commended - Emma Wride, Paul Grassby, Kiran Hewitt
    University of Lincoln and Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
    Do prescriber’s opinions and experience of clozapine contribute to delays in initiating treatment in patients with Treatment Resistant Schizophrenia

 Pre-registration pharmacist research award

  • Winner - Anisha Patel, Priya Acharya
    Central and North West London NHS Foundation trust
    The review of benzodiazepine prescribing upon discharge
  • Runner up - Niall Gerrard Conlan, Ayesha Choudhrey, Vanessa Earnshaw
    South West London and St George's Mental Health NHS Trust
    Audit of reasons why patients discontinue clozapine across a mental health trust

Helen Tennant award

The Helen Tennant Award is an award given by the Board of Examiners at Aston University on behalf of the College of Mental Health Pharmacy in memory of Helen Tennant, a keen and active member of the College, who was in the first cohort of mental health pharmacists to gain the Diploma in Psychiatric Pharmacy from Aston University in 2001.

It is awarded each year to the student with the best overall performance in the Postgraduate Diploma in Psychiatric Pharmacy at Aston University.

Winner -  Sonia Griffiths (Rotherham Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust)

The awards were presented by CMHP President Juliet Shepherd at our annual conference. She said: “It was humbling to give out the awards to so many people who have put such hard work into sharing their experiences. It made my year.”


Gallery from the Awards Dinner

Write a Reply or Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.