Celebrating achievement: CMHP Awards 2017

The College supports research for the benefit of service users. We recognise achievements in innovation and the development of best practice by presenting awards for projects in a range of categories.

This year's CMHP award winners are as follows:

Oral presentation award

  • Winner - Lisa Ainsworth
    Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust
    A Virtual Learning Community for Mental Health Pharmacists

Poster awards - research/other poster 

  • Winner - R Henry, R Massey, Dr E Silva, Dr I Qurashi
    Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust, Mersey Care NHS Foundation Trust & University of Manchester
    Intramuscular (IM) clozapine in a medium-secure, and a high-secure, forensic unit
  • Runner up - H Abduldaem, K Masters, N Patel & P Donyai
    University of Reading & Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
    A direct observation study of medication administration errors in a community and mental health setting

Audit poster

  • Winner - K Smith, R Gittins & R White
    Changing dexamfetamine prescribing practices
  • Runner up - H Renshaw
    Isle of Man Department of Health and Social Care
    An audit on metabolic side effect monitoring for clozapine

Service development poster

  • Winner - R Keers, M Hann, K Bennett, G Alshehri, L Prescott, J Miller, P Brown & D Ashcroft
    The University of Manchester, Greater Manchester Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust, University of Bolton & North West Boroughs Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
    Understanding the frequency, nature and predictors of omitted doses of medication in mental health hospitals: a multi-centre study 
  • Runner up - R Lyon, S Muthalagu & P Bennett
    Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust and Hampshire & Isle of Wight Local Pharmaceutical Committee
    CAMHS and community pharmacy innovative project 
  • Highly Commended - K Masters, T Tompsett & P Donyai
    Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust & University of Reading
    The utility of novel outcome measures in a naturalistic evaluation of schizophrenia treatment

Pre-registration pharmacist research award

  • Winner - Clare Geoghegan
    Worthing Hospital, Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
    Audit of Documentation of Clozapine in GP records

Undergraduate pharmacy research award

  • Winner - Meena Karsan Kerai
    The University of Manchester
    The views of nursing and pharmacy staff towards involving pharmacy teams in the administration of medicines in a mental health hospital
  • Runner up - Madeline Coldwell
    The University of Manchester
    What is the anticholinergic burden from prescribed medications for adult and elderly patients at an NHS mental health hospital?

Research bursary award

  • Winner - Asta Prajapati
    Norfolk and Suffolk NHS Foundation Trust
    Feasibility of introducing a medication Adherence Rating Scale (ARS) in clozapine clinic

Helen Tennant award

The Helen Tennant Award is an award given by the Board of Examiners at Aston University on behalf of the College of Mental Health Pharmacy in memory of Helen Tennant, a keen and active member of the College, who was in the first cohort of mental health pharmacists to gain the Diploma in Psychiatric Pharmacy from Aston University in 2001.

It is awarded each year to the student with the best overall performance in the Postgraduate Diploma in Psychiatric Pharmacy at Aston University.

  • Winner - Holly Renshaw
    Noble's Hospital, Isle of Man Department of Health and Social Care

The awards were presented by CMHP President Nikki Holmes who said: "We were really pleased such a volume of high quality work presented this year and the judges in all categories had real difficulties separating out winners."


Write a Reply or Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.