CMHP Awards

Pharmacists and pharmacy technicians were celebrated for their excellence, innovation and commitment to improving patient care at our annual CMHP awards evening in October.

The 2023 winners and runners up are as follows:

Best oral practice presentation award

  • Winner – Amanda Wheeler
    Griffith University
    Psychological wellbeing and psychotropic medication use in people living with serious mental illness in Australia
  • Runner up – Chris Johnston
    NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde
    General practice pharmacist-led antipsychotic physical health monitoring - closing the gap: A prospective intervention scoping study

Audit poster award

  • Winner – Siobhan Gee, Xander Man
    South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust
    Dosing accuracy of Direct Oral Anticoagulants in a Mental Health Hospital 
  • Runner up - Kerry Evans
    Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
    Do Discharge Summaries Accurately Reflect the Medication Documented on EPMA Discharge Prescriptions?
  • Highly commended - Scarlet Rovezzano, Tracey Holliwell-Brown
    Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
    Counselling for Women of Child-Bearing Potential on Anticonvulsant Mood Stabilisers

Service evaluation/development poster award

  • Winner – Simmy Daniel, Michaela Hinson-Raven, Iffah Salim, Fabio Serra, Emma Walker 
    East London NHS Foundation Trust & NHS England
    Mental Health Simulation Training for Pharmacy workforce in Secondary Care
  • Runner up - Junaid Mohamed, Catherine Harding, Julie Kenyon 
    Blackburn with Darwen PCN, Local Primary Care, Lancashire & South Cumbria NHS Foundation Trust
    Evaluating the Impact of a Clinical Mental Health Pharmacist in a Primary Care Network Mental Health Service

Original research poster award

  • Winner - Amy King
    North East London NHS Foundation Trust 
    Burnout and resilience of pharmacy professionals in the United Kingdom post COVID-19 pandemic 
  • Runner up – Bashayr Ali H Alsaeed, Richard Keers, Jason Hall,
    University of Manchester 
    Exploring non-medical prescribing for patients with mental illness: a scoping review

Delegates’ Choice Award

This award was introduced for the first time in 2022.

  • Winner – Simmy Daniel, Michaela Hinson-Raven, Iffah Salim, Fabio Serra, Emma Walker 
    East London NHS Foundation Trust & NHS England
    Mental Health Simulation Training for Pharmacy workforce in Secondary Care

Foundation trainee pharmacist project award

  • Winner - Ka Lam (Karen) Leong 
    East London NHS Foundation Trust
    An Audit Report on Baseline Physical Health Monitoring of High-dose Antipsychotics Therapy in Luton and Bedfordshire Inpatient Mental Health Setting
  • Runner up - Helen Jerram
    Cambridgeshire & Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust
    An audit to assess the quality of prescribing and administration of schedule 4 and 5 controlled drugs at CPFT

Pharmacy technician project award

  • Winner – Millie Sterry
    Gloucestershire Health and Care NHS Foundation Trust
    How can we enhance the role of pharmacy technicians within the mental health sector 
  • Runner up - Jayne Freeman
    Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board
    Investigating the Impact of Pharmacy Technician Support on Conwy ADHD Clinic

Undergraduate pharmacist project award

  • Winner - Ellen Grosvenor 
    The University of Manchester and Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust
    A survey of the multi-disciplinary team to gather their views on the priorities for community mental health pharmacy services in a mental health trust
  • Runner up - Lucy Alcock and Holly Tonkin 
    Liverpool John Moores University and Mersey Care NHS Foundation TrustA Baseline Evaluation of Clozapine Blister Pack Dispensing in a Mental Health Trust in Preparation for the Implementation of an Automated Dispensing System

Helen Tennant Award

This prize is awarded by the Board of Examiners of Aston University on behalf of the College of Mental Health Pharmacy in memory of Helen Tennant, a keen and active member of the Group, who was in the first cohort of mental health pharmacists to gain the Diploma in Psychiatric Pharmacy from Aston University in 2001.  

It is awarded each year to the student with the best overall performance in the Postgraduate Diploma in Psychiatric Pharmacy at Aston University.

  • Winner - Sarah Walter, HMP Holme House

Celia Feetam Memorial Award 

Aston University created this award in 2018 to recognise the student with the best overall performance in the postgraduate Certificate in Psychiatric Therapeutics each year.  The Celia Feetam Award was named in recognition of the extensive and valued contribution made by Celia to the higher education of so many specialist pharmacists.

Since Celia sadly passed away in 2021, and in her memory the College of Mental Health Pharmacy and Aston have agreed that this award will be adopted from 2022 onwards by CMHP.  It will be called the Celia Feetam Memorial Award and will be awarded by CMHP to the highest performing certificate student each year.

  • Winner - Rebecca Godbeer, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

The awards were presented by CMHP President Roz Gittins. She said: 

“The oral and poster presentations demonstrate the ongoing positive progress in Mental Health Pharmacy research so a huge congratulations to everyone who presented regardless of whether they were successful in receiving an award.”

A selection of images from the Awards evening

Awards graphic