A quality line up: CMHP Awards 2018

The College supports research for the benefit of service users. We celebrate achievements in innovation and the development of best practice by presenting awards for projects in a range of categories.

This year's judging panel were impressed by the quality of the work submitted for the CMHP awards. The 2018 winners and runners up are as follows:

The Alistair Tinto Award for best oral practice presentation

  • Winner – David Gerrard
    Northumberland Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust
    Pharmacist Independent prescriber working in a Community Learning Disability team – releasing psychiatry time and delivering STOMP
  • Runner up – Joanne Woodward
    University of Manchester
    Stakeholders’ Views of the Feasibility and Acceptability of Medicines Administration by Pharmacy Technicians on Mental Health Inpatient Wards

Poster awards – quality improvement poster

  • Winner -  Amy King
    East London NHS Foundation Trust
    Minimising Risk in High Dose Antipsychotic Therapy
  • Runner up - Jaclyn Pickup, Anne Flear and Simone Walker
    Greater Manchester Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust
    Nurse led interventions as an alternative to PRN medication: The Positive PRN Project (Pause, Reflect, Next steps) to reduce unnecessary use of PRN medication and to encourage self-calming in an adult acute mental health setting, with the development of electronic methods of capturing these interventions
  • Highly commended - Joanne Burke and Jane Astley
    Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust
    Pharmacy technician led physical health clinic for patients prescribed oral antipsychotics

Audit poster

  • Winner - Li-Ying Huang and Nikki Holmes
    Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
    A retrospective audit to assess the utilisation of clozapine in a high secure forensic hospital

Research poster

  • Winner - Richard Keers, Ruby Lawson, Man Lo, Joanne Nguyen and Penny Lewis
    The University of Manchester, Greater Manchester Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust and Manchester Universities NHS Foundation Trust
    Evaluating how limited pharmacy team resources are prioritised in order to provide pharmaceutical care to inpatients in a mental health trust
  • Runner up - Keval Dabba and Matthew Elswood
    Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
    A mixed methods analysis of antipsychotic incidents reported to an NHS Foundation Trust’s incident reporting system
  • Highly commended - Chris F Johnson, Brian Williams, Stephen A MacGillivray, Nadine J Dougall and Margaret Maxwell
    NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde, University of Stirling, Edinburgh Napier University and University of Dundee
    ‘Doing the right thing’: Factors influencing GP prescribing of antidepressants and prescribed doses

Service development poster

  • Winner - Elizabeth Buist, Rebecca McLelland, Gordon Rushworth, Andrew MacLure, Katie Gibson Smith, Thom Shaw, Karen MacAskill, Scott Cunningham, Derek Stewart and Katie MacLure
    NHS Highland and Robert Gordon University
    A multi-perspective evaluation of specialist mental health clinical pharmacist prescribers role within general practice.
  • Joint runner up - Laura Stavert, Teresa Barnes and Claire Thomas
    Northumberland Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust
    Evaluation of an Advanced Pharmacist Practitioner prescribing cognitive enhancing medication (CEM) within the a mental health trust Memory Service
  • Joint runner up - Richard Keers, Caroline Jagger, Helen Pusey and Elizabeth Lee-Woolf
    The University of Manchester and Greater Manchester Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust
    Evaluating a novel inter-professional workshop for undergraduate pharmacy and nursing students on mental capacity and covert administration of medication

Undergraduate pharmacy research award

  • Winner - Matthew Francis Spreadbury
    The University of Manchester
    Exploring the potential role of community pharmacy teams in suicide and self-harm awareness and prevention.
  • Runner up - Grace Tovell
    University of Reading
    An audit of the adherence to Trust guidelines on covert administration
  • Runner up - Christine Hany Lotfallah
    The University of Manchester
    The training experiences and perceived training needs of community pharmacy teams in suicide and self-harm awareness and prevention.

Helen Tennant award

The Helen Tennant Award is an award given by the Board of Examiners at Aston University on behalf of the College of Mental Health Pharmacy in memory of Helen Tennant, a keen and active member of the College, who was in the first cohort of mental health pharmacists to gain the Diploma in Psychiatric Pharmacy from Aston University in 2001.

It is awarded each year to the student with the best overall performance in the Postgraduate Diploma in Psychiatric Pharmacy at Aston University.

  • Winner - Carla Corbet from Auckland District Health Board in New Zealand


Write a Reply or Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.